Ember Music | Volume 1
Buy on iTunes Buy on Amazon Buy on Bandcamp - (Name your price)
Various Artists — Ember Music | Volume 1
Release date : Jan. 01, 2011
Label : Ember Music - EMBRcomp001
  1. Murat Esmer - Huntitled III
  2. Carl Sagan's Ghost - Nanobots Chill
  3. Known Rebel - Neigh
  4. Akisma - Comfortable Ignorance
  5. Kurt Lorenz - Filament
  6. Mr. Sandbags - Defect Pattern
  7. Saffron Slumber - Glade
  8. Savaran - Views from a Slow Moving Train
  9. Nordmach - Krista
  10. TraisKin - Alice: Longitude 180
  11. Slaphappy Mortician - Nothing Left to Say
  12. MobiusB - Ouraborus


facebooktwittergoogle plus

This first release by nonprofit label Ember Music is the rare find among multi-artist compilations that plays like a cohesive album rather than the disjointed offerings of its individuals. From the pensive introduction (“Huntitled III” by musician Murat Esmer) to the dark, haunted coda by New Englander MobiusB, the listener is led seamlessly through tracks that manage to differ vastly from one to the next without sacrificing unity. The album plays not only as a whole, but as an intelligent and detailed statement. We are taken on a dark, occasionally gloomy, but always thoughtful tour through this collection.

All in all: the album is an exciting debut from its promising artists, and should not be overlooked. If you’re in the mood for poppy and cheerful music, come back another day. But, if you like moody, ambient electronica that brilliantly displays evocative field recordings, this may be for you.”

Read the full review on Dovetail



released 01 January 2011
Mastered by William Bendrot
Cover design by Kurt Lorenz
Release/catalogue number: EMBRcomp001